If you are currently enrolled in  your first or second year of law school you should apply to receive a WBA scholarship. There are two scholarships currently being offered: the Charles Hamilton Houston Scholarship and the Eugene Hamilton Scholarship. Please take a look at the scholarship details below, and apply before the deadline. The deadline to apply for for these scholarships has been extended to April 17, 2015.


Apply today!



The Washington Bar Association Educational Foundation, Inc. (WBAEF) is pleased to announce the 2015 Charles Hamilton Houston (CHH) Scholarship Essay Competition. Members of the 2015 WBAEF CHH Scholarship Committee are Antoinette Barksdale, Charles Byrd, Robie Beatty, Darrian Denman, Yaida Ford and Natalie Walker.
Currently enrolled first and second year law students are invited to participate in the CHH Essay Competition. Entrants will submit an essay on the topic: “In the age of social media and 24 hour news coverage, cases of police brutality can be well publicized and widely discussed. The actual investigations of brutality complaints are not so public. What are the rights of the victims/ or victims’ families to access information. What rights do the accused officers have?” Essays must be in typewritten form, using a 12 point font, double spaced on 8 ½ x 11” white paper with 1 inch margins; not to exceed seven (7) pages. Monetary scholarships will be awarded to the first ($3,000.00), second ($2,000.00) and third ($1,000.00) place winners. The check will be made payable to the law school to be credited to the student’s account.

Essays must be submitted on or before the deadline of Friday, March 20, 2015 by email only. Emails will be accepted until midnight on March 20th. Entries will be judged by a panel of attorneys and/or judges, and will be scored on the basis of both substance and form.
Winners of the CHH Essay Competition will be presented during the Washington Bar Association and Washington Bar Association Educational Foundation, Inc.’s Annual Law Day Dinner at the J.W. Marriott in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, May 2, 2015. Attendance is required.

Essay submissions should be emailed in PDF format to:

Darrian Denman, Esq.

Should you have questions or desire any additional information, please contact the Co- Chairs of the WBAEF CHH Scholarship Committee, Antoinette Barksdale (202) 307-6012 or Charles Byrd (301) 474-4599.



1. ENTRANTS - The Competition is open to first and second year full time law students, and second and third year part time law students. Law students who will graduate in May 2015 are not eligible to participate. Each entrant must provide certification of his or her active status from the entrant’s registrar's office, and a resume. The scholarship will be paid directly to the law school for tuition and law school expenses.

2. APPELLATE BRIEF TOPIC - In accordance with the rules submitted herein, entrants should submit an appellate brief on the following question presented:

Whether local municipalities possessing and utilizing military grade weaponry is a violation of the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution.

3. SOURCES - Entrants are encouraged to use all available primary and secondary sources. This includes case law, statutory authority, U.S. Constitution, law review articles, books, and the Internet.

4. APPELLATE BRIEF - All briefs shall be prepared in accordance with Rules of the D.C. Court of Appeals, and the Rules and Regulations set forth herein. Each brief must represent the individual effort of the entrant.

5. JUDGING AND AWARDS - All briefs will be judged by a panel of attorneys and/or judges, and will be scored on the basis of both substance and form. The winner will receive a $5,000 scholarship in honor of the late Judge Eugene Hamilton.

(A) General Form: Briefs shall be submitted in typewritten form, using a 12 point font, single-spaced on 8 ½ by 11 inch white bond paper with appropriate margins. The brief must be securely bound at the left margin. Briefs shall not exceed thirteen (13) pages, including endnotes.

(B) Submission of Briefs: All briefs must be submitted in writing and electronically in PDF format on or before the deadline of March 20, 2015. Each entrant shall submit by mail the original brief, with two (2) copies, as well as registrar certification, and a copy of the entrant's resume to:

Hon. Claudia Crichlow
Office of Administrative Hearings
Suite 450 North
441 4th Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001

RE: WBA Eugene Hamilton Scholarship Competition 2015

Electronic submissions should be mailed to claudia.crichlow@dc.gov. Please include in the subject Line WBA Eugene Hamilton Scholarship Competition 2015.

Mailed submissions must be postmarked on or before March 20, 2015. Electronic submission will be accepted until midnight on March 20, 2015. Faxed submissions will not be accepted.

(C) Certification: By submitting a brief in this competition, each entrant certifies that such brief:

(1) has been prepared in accordance with the rules of the competition; and
(2) represents the exclusive work product of the entrant.
7. FACULTY OR OTHER ASSISTANCE - No entrant shall receive any faculty or other assistance in the writing of his/her brief.

8. POWER OF THE COMMITTEE - The Scholarship Committee may amend the Competition Rules and Regulations as necessary to insure a fair and proper competition, and is empowered to interpret these Rules and resolve any disputes which may arise. All decisions of the Scholarship Committee are final and not subject to any appeal.

9. ACCEPTANCE OF RULES - Participation in this Scholarship Competition constitutes acceptance of the Rules by the competing law students.

10. CORRESPONDENCE - Any written correspondence or inquiries concerning the Scholarship Competition should be directed to Claudia Crichlow at claudia.crichlow@dc.gov or Bridget Bailey Lipscomb, Esquire at bridgetbaileylipscomb@gmail.com